Frank Fenner Award

Professor Frank FennerApplications closed.

The Frank Fenner Award for Advanced Research in Infectious Diseases is named in honour of Professor Frank Fenner, an Australian pioneer of viral research. Prof Fenner played a central part in the global eradication of smallpox, chairing the World Health Organization Global Commission for the Certification of Smallpox Eradication. Prof Fenner was an active member of ASID, and was the patron of the society from 2000 until his death in late 2010, aged 95.


The Frank Fenner Award is open to ASID Full or Associate members who have performed a substantial portfolio of original research in Infectious Diseases, and who are currently enrolled in, or have completed, a research higher degree, within the last seven years.


The value of this award is $5,000 AUD plus complimentary registration to the Annual Scientific Meeting 2017 ( 29 March - 1 April, Blue Mountains), where the award will be presented. Awardees will be expected to attend and actively participate in the full ASM, which includes presenting the annual Frank Fenner Oration, based on their research portfolio.

Applicants should email the following to :

  • a letter of application;
  • a record of original research consisting of 5 - 10 papers, published not more than 7 years prior to the closing date, along with a list of publications and summary of research. The applicant’s contribution to the research must be specified and other authors must be listed (in the case of multiple authors, the contribution of the applicant should be clearly defined).
  • any unpublished manuscripts suitable for publication, and based on work performed over the same period
  • current CV (include date degree was awarded)
  • letters from two referees who are ASID Full members.

The award will not be granted on the basis of research for which a previous Frank Fenner Award has been received. Previous winners may not apply. However, previously unsuccessful applicants are encouraged to apply, providing they are still eligible.

Previous Winners

2016 Andrew Steer
2015 Ben Howden
2014 Mark Boyd
2013 Ivan Stratov
2012 Allen Cheng
2011 Anton Peleg
2010 Marc Pellegrini
2009 David Burgner
2008 David Paterson
2007 Gregory Dore
2006 Kumar Visvanathan
2005 Margaret Hellard
2004 Cheryl Jones
2003 Raina MacIntyre
2002 Sharon Lewin
2001 Jonathan Carapetis
2000 Dominic Dwyer
1999 Nick Anstey
1998 Christopher Fairley